jump to navigation

sharapova v. roddick January 30, 2007

Posted by d.w. in sports.
trackback

while most people were watching the men’s and women’s finals in the australian open, i was waiting for the bigger matchup. who, between maria sharapova and andy roddick, would perform better in their respective press conferences. people keep thinking that sharapova and roddick are dating. even if they are (i really doubt it), maria should know that andy still loves mandy moore. but i admit that they have a lot in common. for instance, andy roddick lost in the semifinals of the australian open to roger federer, by which i mean that he got killed. federer won in straight sets (big surprise, every match was won in straight sets by federer who may not drop a set all year) and roddick didn’t stand a chance. similarly, maria sharapova got killed in the final of the australian open to serena williams. also in straight sets. while some people might say that it’s less embarrassing to lose to someone who’s been the world #1 player for almost 3 years (roger federer) than to someone who was unseeded and ranked #81 coming into the australian open (serena williams), the way serena played made her pretty unbeatable. i think that it would be pretty fair to compare how they handled the press conference after their huge losses. i’ll just give you the highlights. or you can read the full transcripts for roddick’s press conference or sharapova’s press conference.

andy roddick’s highlights:

andy roddickQ. What was it like for you just being there at the end of that?
ANDY RODDICK: It was frustrating. You know, it was miserable. It sucked. It was terrible. Besides that, it was fine.

Q. Can you just take us from 4‑All on. Up to 4‑4, you’re in the match. Then you got broken.
ANDY RODDICK: Yeah, I got broken. Then I got broken three more times. Then I got broken two more times in the third set. Then it was over 26 minutes later. Is that what you saw, too?

Q. Is he getting better? Is he getting progressively better?
ANDY RODDICK: I don’t know. I mean, better than what? You’ve been around the last three years, haven’t you?
Q. Yes.
ANDY RODDICK: So it’s been about the same.

Q. How much would you have paid in order not to come too this press conference tonight?
ANDY RODDICK: That’s about the best question that’s been asked. Well, I mean, I can’t really say an amount because I would have gotten fined, what, 20 grand. Obviously, it would have to be less than that, right, if we’re thinking logically? It really wouldn’t be about the money; it would be about running away and not facing it. I would pay a lot of money if everyone would just make up stuff that I said and pretend like I was actually here. That would be fine. My dad didn’t raise me to run away from it, so here I am.

Q. What did Jimmy say? Did you talk about that before the match, if Roger gets on a roll, try to do X, Y or Z, slow it down?
ANDY RODDICK: Yeah, there’s a lot of strategy talk. It’s not so much like, If you’re down 6‑4, 6‑0, 2‑0. We didn’t really talk about that. Oops.

Q. How would you write it if you had to write it?
ANDY RODDICK: Probably something similar to what you guys are going to do, I’m sure.

Q. Your performance here is better than on court.
ANDY RODDICK: No shit (laughter). If there were rankings for press conferences, I wouldn’t have to worry about dropping out of the top five, I hope.

Q. After a night like this, do you sleep well?
ANDY RODDICK: It depends on how much I drink tonight.

Q. Where are you going after this?
ANDY RODDICK: No idea actually.

and sharapova’s highlights:

maria sharapovaQ. Is it possible for you to explain what went wrong for you today?
MARIA SHARAPOVA: Well, I think it started in the second game, you know, when I’m up 40‑15, you know, and I give her that game. From then on, you know, when she’s serving pretty big and pretty consistent, you know, it was tough to break her. So, uhm, you know, I think that was a key game in the first set. And, uhm, you know, I mean, she played some ‑‑ she played some good tennis. You know, we don’t really have a lot of long rallies. It was just, you know, about, you know, a good serve percentage, which I definitely did not have, you know, which I said was going to be important, and the return. I thought she just served too good today.

Q. Seems that you didn’t serve very well during the tournament, for the whole tournament. Is it a technical problem? Is it confidence? Is it physical?
MARIA SHARAPOVA: I don’t see why it has anything to do with confidence. I mean, it’s not ‑‑ it’s not fairly possible to serve well all the time. I think I served ‑‑ you know, I mean, I served well when I needed to in the right points. But when you, you know, against other opponents, when I was down a break, I was able to, you know, to get the break and find a way to get good serves in when I had to. And today I didn’t feel like I could get an opening, you know, to break her, even though I did have a couple of breakpoints.

Q. You said you can never underestimate her. But did you expect her to play so well today?
MARIA SHARAPOVA: Of course. I mean, she’s won six matches here. I mean, there’s no reason why, you know, she’s not playing with confidence and she’s not playing well. I mean, to be in a final of a Grand Slam and to beat the ‑‑ to beat the pretty tough players, that takes a lot of good tennis. So you have to expect it.

Q. 4‑1 in the second, you looked like you pulled something out of your bag. Was that a piece of paper?
MARIA SHARAPOVA: Yeah.
Q. Can I ask what it said?
MARIA SHARAPOVA: Just a reminder.
Q. Of?
MARIA SHARAPOVA: Of? Of what I’m going to buy in the grocery store. I mean, I’m playing a tennis match. It’s pretty easy ‑‑ pretty easy to understand that they’re notes about the match.

Q. I want to know if you think this is a matter of experience, since you’re getting used to talking on the microphone, or also because you felt you had to give something more to the crowd since the match was so‑so?
MARIA SHARAPOVA: Thanks. You’re telling me my speech was a lot better than the match (smiling). Great, great! Wow, wow! All right. Uhm, no, you know, at that point ‑‑ you know, maybe you’re trying to make it up just naturally because you feel like, you know, you owe a few words to the crowd. No, uhm, I mean, I remember when I did my first ‑‑ when I had to do my first speech after I won a 10,000 or something in front of, I don’t know, like 90 people that showed up to watch the match. I was just thinking to myself, These people do ‑‑ don’t want to hear what I have to say. I remember being so embarrassed about it.

Q. Does she still have the best first serve in women’s tennis?
MARIA SHARAPOVA: Uhm, I mean, I’ve played against her when her first serve wasn’t completely on, you know, when she’s had to rely on her second serves a lot. I mean, I think it’s consistently the biggest. I think on important points, you know, she still goes for the big serve. And a little has to do with confidence, as well. You know, when you step on a line and it’s, you know, a tough situation, I think it’s pretty gutsy to come up with a big serve. But it’s definitely her biggest weapon, I feel, yeah.

Q. Andy Roddick lost completely against Federer. He was handling the loss very nice. He said, Just go back to work, work hard. What kind of a lesson is that for you today?
MARIA SHARAPOVA: Yeah, of course. I mean, as much as I can be disappointed about losing a tennis match, I mean, I’ll be honest with you, I don’t like losing. I know you all know that. It’s not fun. You go back in the locker room, like, Darn it, I just lost. Someone is celebrating over there. They’re going to be opening a bottle of champagne.

i think andy roddick is for sure in the top 5 for press conferences. way better than shaq and that guy doesn’t even make any sense when he’s talking. from a scale of -5 to 5 i give roddick’s performance a 4.5 and i give a 1.5 to sharapova’s. so if they’re dating, it’s a big mistake because she’s not mandy moore enough for andy, and he’s way too funny for her to handle.

Comments»

1. Sra - January 31, 2007

I guess the real question, you know, is how would Mandy Moore have scored on her press conference?

2. Laura - May 15, 2010

Ouu sexy 😀


Leave a Reply

